Mo’s Mirror

Standard

All December blogs are accompanied by a nice glass of sherry… 😉

I had rather a successful shopping trip at the Fair-Trade Church inAberdeen. I bought a very nice djembe drum that obviously would not fit into a carrier bag. I saw nothing wrong with carrying it under my arm until I caught up with my 2 friends who were browsing in a rather cool shop called “Fat-Face”. They were slightly horror-struck that I would walk into a shop to meet them with a drum under my arm but then I threatened to start beating it so they decided to keep very quiet.

The sky was really leaden in town and by 3pm we had a heavy snowfall. I received an emergency call from the little girl next door. Her Mum and new baby brother had just arrived home from hospital and the car was stuck at the bottom of our track. I had a root around the garage, found some chain and backed the Landy down the track. Found the towing point on the neighbour’s car, attached it to the Landy and slowly pulled her car up to her house – very exciting. Perhaps I should get a winch!

School was not cancelled the next day as the roads were clear but the track was solid sheet ice for the rest of the week which got worse as all the snow melted from the fields onto it then it froze again overnight.

I went for a rake with Mo in the junk shop and we liked the look of a large, ornate mirror. She thought that it would look great above her fireplace. We did a bit of a Chuckle Brothers impression as we carried it to the car. Of course it was 2” too big and she refused to hang it on a different wall. So it was decided that we should lower the whole mantle-shelf. We discovered that it was only held up by one screw at each end anyway so that was easy. We also found that the slope on the shelf was not caused by bowed wood but by the fact that the joiner who put it up 10 years previously had not done a good job. We hacked a couple of bits of wood to act as chocks with a big saw on the kitchen table, nailed this onto the tongue and groove panelling then whacked the mantle-shelf back up with 6” nails – sorted! I did wonder at the comedy of it all that our strenuous hammering might knock the whole wall down but I think that if there was a freak earthquake that shelf would not budge. The mirror looks great and the ornaments no longer slide off.

On the quilting front I made good progress. I finished a Christmas wall hanging for my sister, 3 strings of Christmas bunting, the QBBI tartan holdall collection A3 piece, tried out a lace snowflake on the embroidery machine, loaded up the Awesome/Awful quilt, made a gift bag for the Aberdeen P&Q group Christmas party AND… (to the tune of “12 Days of Christmas”) …the most hideous banner made by a friend’s school Scripture Union group – bizarre felt faces glued onto a long piece of canvas with a hidden moral message. My heart wasn’t really in that project – it could have been a great kids’ project too but I got it all attached and bound so it looks more substantial, at least. I just hope they don’t put up a notice saying who quilted it!

I have had success with trying out some great metallic thread so I’m hoping to use it on the Awesome/Awful quilt. I have also ordered lots more gold stars and crystals so it should be nice and spangley.

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

