Round the Bend

Standard

I was delighted to receive 7 packs of white baby rickrack from Bonnie in New York so I could outline the plates on the Hungarian quilt. This was a bulky exercise and reminded me why I prefer longarming to battling with a domestic machine.

I have mastered the amazing art of making surprisingly long bias binding out of a single square of fabric. It was the Fons & Porter book that did it. They tell you to place pins in the fabric, then it is obvious which side has to be attached and offset!? What I am not satisfied with is how to sew the binding really, really neatly into the “clefts”. Alex Anderson says to pull the cleft until it is straight but F&P recommend doing stitches one by one. This is something I will figure out for my “What Not To Do” book. The thing that is a revelation to me is that if you actually follow the instructions just to pin a few inches ahead at a time, the binding does not pull tight around the curves so hopefully it will hang absolutely flat. The Broken Dishes quilt should hang flat – it is backed with linen and has wool wadding BUT will cost a fortune to post as it is rather heavy. I have taken quite a while to hand stitch all of the binding onto the back around all those bends and through all that bulk but I have almost completed it. Now I simply have to decide whether to add a few discreet yoyos…

My Mother came to stay this week but the sun did not come out until the day she left. We all enjoyed her visit. I got her to construct the Clothkits dress for Fenella since I could not figure out what to do. She did not really enjoy this project because the dress fabric is a large print of a famous tower block. I bought it to see if I could manage simple dressmaking (not the case) and it was a bargain. She was glad that the yurt and house now have wood stoves as the Easter Holiday weather was grey and damp. My Dad gleefully gave us a daily weather report from England that it was gloriously spring-like.

We had a jaunt to a new garden centre and bought 5 perennials having been inspired by “Gardeners’ World”. They are still in their pots sitting on the doorstep waiting to go into the ground.

I went into The Highlands to see Paul the Yurtman on Saturday. He wanted me to see a different door frame for my exhibition yurt. He had his original frame up which is 18 feet in diameter and slightly higher. It also had a curved door frame. It was more money than I had originally planned to spend but I had to agree that it would be a far superior exhibition yurt so ordered it and paid 50%! Of course, it means that I will have to make about 4 more patchwork panels. We had a tour of his workshops and saw lots of great projects made from reclaimed wood. I asked if he would also make me a wood carved green man face but he said he was planning to run a course so I’ll have to sign up for it if I want one! Paul’s real job is an upholsterer so I have also ordered a canvas patchwork crown cover with clear top for my own yurt for the summer.

On the way home we stopped at “Treasures”, the gem shop in Kincardine O’Neil. I bought Mo a fluorite egg for a belated Easter present. It is for concentration (I think… but I may not have been paying attention). As I stopped for milk I was delighted to discover that Somerfield in Banchory, which is closing for a major refit, had a computer problem with the pricing of red South African wine. I bought 6 bottles for 49p each. I could have bought more but I thought that I should leave some for other customers!

Leave a Reply

