Sunshine and Showers

Standard

This week’s weather is a mirror of my fortunes. Beautifully still and sunny one minute but torrential rain and gloomy the next. That’s a bit melodramatic but this week has brought several ups and downs! I have obviously been preoccupied since I haven’t taken any photos. I’ll have to go and find something on the web for this week’s photo…

I finally finished the Kaleido quilt with spirographs and it looks great. Some of the designs are not absolutely central but it’s hardly noticeable. I even made full use of my channel locks to do piano key quilting; I only had to listen for the magnets to click into place for horizontal or vertical. I also worked away on the Bloody Bargello and have half of it all sewn together, the other panels are ready to attach and I really can’t see the mistakes now. So that was all good progress BUT still no sign of George the Builder, the Boiler Man or the Butcher.

I finally made up my mind to purchase a second laptop, small enough to take on my travels. I had hankered after a netbook but they don’t have DVD drives. I made some calls for advice, posted a query on the APQS forum about what everybody likes, talked myself out of a Macbook and settled on a red Dell. I purchased it online with my credit card BUT the cash that I had put onto it at the bank had not cleared so it was declined. I decided to use my brand new Business card but it was refused too. This is the card that I can’t read the PIN number on because it is a scratch and reveal system so sensitive that every time I get one I scratch it off completely. The bank said the card was fine and I had funds so then I called Dell back. After I had been put on hold, transferred several times and been cut off, I wondered if I had made a good choice. It got ordered and paid for in the end.

I was feeling great that I had been paid commission for my APQS sale and would be able to pay for the flights down to England on my credit card BUT then I received a bill from the architect who drew up the plans for the workshop conversion.  He wants 6% of the lowest tender which is £10 000!!  I had to call him and say that since the work wasn’t going ahead on this over-priced project, £10K seems a bit steep. I reminded him that the original brief was for accommodation costing £80 000 max, that would give me an income to pay off the ensuing mortgage and now that I can’t afford to get the work done I have no income. I explained all this calmly despite feeling hysterical and he said he would draw up a fee based on the time spent working on the plans. I daresay he will still manage to charge £5000…

On Friday I gave 2 ladies a thorough Longarm Demo. They wanted to figure out whether they should invest in one to start their own quilting business. They had a long list of questions about cost, reliability, VAT, insurance, what sort of a market there is for longarming, extras, and techniques. They were very impressed by the R&S boards and the Quiltazoid as an economical alternative to a computerised system. They went away seeming very enthusiastic with plenty to think about and discuss.

I handed Tania a vast pot containing a bacon hock, lentils and veg and asked her if she would turn it into soup for the Quilters coming to the Area Day on Saturday. She made a wonderful vat of soup; I decided to forget about home-bakes and get Mr Kipling to make some “exceedingly good cakes” for me. The Area Day went well and I didn’t forget anything crucial. There were only 15 quilters there, including 2 very enthusiastic Young Quilters, aged 6 and 8 but they all enjoyed the project , admired my half finished Bloody Bargello, produced some wonderful quilts at “Show & Tell” , and proclaimed Tania’s soup delicious.

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

