Moving Forward

Standard

Almost as soon as I arrived home from Houston, the phone rang with several requests for me to do supply teaching. I declined any for the first week back but was offered two regular days at two different schools until at least February. I decided to do 2.5 days locally temporarily. The advantages are that I will learn the children’s names, it will not cost a fortune in diesel and it will be nice to know what I am doing in advance. The intention is to spend the other 2.5 days purposefully working on quilt related projects.

There are basically three ideas buzzing around in my head at present and I can’t wait to get started. Two are wholecloths involving structures and the third is an Anti-Wholecloth, so I am tempted to nickname it “Damian” or “Be’elzebub”. As usual, the opening ideas are sketchy to say the least so I am going to keep them under wraps until they have evolved a bit. Let’s just say that I shall be ordering some more dye and some ready-to-dye yardage from Whaleys of Bradford. I bought a nice selection of plains in Houston and may add a little silk so there may be a bit of cutting and experimenting going on over the next few weeks.

Obviously, I still have “Oz Bewitched”, “Silent Movie Star2”, “Wonky Houses” and the usual stash of vintage horrors to complete but they will all get there in the end when their time is right.

My diary is rapidly filling up with talks and workshops. I really need to look ahead to see what I can fit in without dashing about all over the place. I have to do two lectures in Central Scotland in the next two weeks. Those dates that were organised months ago are suddenly here.

Apart from working on a small and simple customer quilt, I spent all week catching up with correspondence, doing a little research for my forthcoming projects and I even made a  long overdue birthday carrot cake for a friend.

Autumn made rapid progress this week. I meant to take photos of the deep orange-gold of the larch trees but before I remembered to, the wind had blown most of them off so that in just a couple of days the trees were almost bare. It is getting darker earlier every day and gritting lorries can be seen most days. At the weekend we enjoyed the latest James Bond film, “Skyfall”, particularly the Landrover car chase and the finale set in The Highlands and could not help noticing that the shops are full of Christmas gifts. I may not have begun to think about Christmas shopping yet but at least I have already finished my three Christmas Quilts!

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

