Christmas Boredom!

Standard

summerhse

dyedrr

Christmas Week was so lazy and relaxing here that instead of appreciating the downtime, eating too much chocolate and watching TV, I have to admit that I was actually slightly bored. I don’t know why I can’t just switch off, think of all of the overly busy times and chill out. I loved the fact that I received very few emails and there were no deadlines. I could not really go off and spend hours in the workshop during a family holiday and besides it has become pretty chilly out there but I did sneak in a bit of dyeing while I was doing some laundry.

The summerhouse was all finished and wonderfully cosy when we used a cable to connect up fairy lights and the electric stove from my workshop. It was another beautiful space in which to escape and read a book. We have more lovely outdoor spaces than inside space here. I now have kitchen envy after visiting two friends who have glass links from their old stone cottages to new extensions.

The cotton rickrack has dyed very successfully and the silk bamboo has retained its sheen despite not being as deeply coloured as I had hoped. Tania brought me some nice silk from Singapore and I ordered a lot of Oakshott as they had a Boxing Day Sale. I now have  far more fabric than I need for this project so will have to consider making everyday quilts using up some of it.

The summerhouse was all finished and wonderfully cosy when we used a cable to connect up fairy lights and the electric stove from my workshop. It was another beautiful space in which to escape and read a book. We have more lovely outdoor spaces than inside space here. I now have kitchen envy after visiting two friends who have glass links from their old stone cottages to new extensions.

Plenty of baking went on despite the vagaries of my temperamental oven but then we had to EAT it! I began to look forward to emptying the fridge. Fenella wanted me to go shopping and buy some “normal” food as she was fed up with permutations of turkey leftovers!

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

One response »

Leave a Reply

