Cracking on with 2013

Standard

gadgetbags  skypetry

Obviously, I soon began to enjoy the lack of excitement of the Christmas holidays and I relished getting up late, taking the dogs out then having coffee, followed by minor pottering about. As a family we watched all of the Pirates of the Caribbean films with popcorn.There is not normally the luxury of a woodburner in the cinema and instead of the usual rustling from the audience, we had the ticking and cuckooing of our long-dead cuckoo clock resurrected by a liberal dose of WD40.

I decided that I really had to sew something so I made half a dozen new drawstring gadget bags for new charger cables in the hope that their owners will actually use them. I amazed myself by completing my tax return 3 weeks before the deadline and tidying out my baking cupboard after discovering microscopic critters in the flour shaker. Luckily, I had not used it recently for rolling out biscuits…

I have been set the challenge of Skyping all of the stunt quilters to get an unusual group photo for Quilting Arts Magazine. This proved challenging – I had to download and test Skype with an intermittent Broadband connection then take a photo to see if it was going to be clear enough. I also set up a new wifi printer and even got it working with most of the devices in the house.

I considered ordering the smallest Horn cabinet to bring a sewing machine back into the house so that I could just fit in short bursts of sewing in the evenings. What stopped me was that they are around £350 and I would have to find somewhere else to put my antique treadle machine table that I use for my laptop. In the end I have just lifted out the side flap and put my machine on top of the old treadle even though it is not sunk flat into the table which I prefer. I had actually forgotten how good my original made-in-Sweden Husqvarna is and I plan to use it to add decorative stitches and rickrack to the BzB blocks.

I always hesitate to come up with New Year Resolutions but two things I aspire to will be to make an effort to stick to a healthy diet and to get That Yurt Book back on track, either to be accepted by a publisher OR to self publish it. Now that I have put that in print I had better make an effort!

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

