Highland Fling

Standard

BzBpcd2

I think I have finished piecing BzB as it is now approximately 94” one way and almost 104” the other way. I had hoped to finish it off by adding plain borders but it is already more than large enough. I was aiming for something 90-100” so there is a limit to what can still be attached. It is probably too big for most shows and I seriously wonder if it is actually suitable. Like Dr. Frankenstein, I may have spent several weeks creating a monster with its own agenda.

It is a long way off what I had originally intended but it has been an interesting process. I have learned to enjoy freestyle curved piecing and appreciate that some forward planning may have been useful. On the other hand, if I rename the quilt, “Highland Fling”, I could say that ceilidh dances and the Scottish landscape have been my influences all along as there is a combination of the constraints of traditional blocks and the wild abandon of how it all went together. Most of the colours are harmoniously heathery but once those began to run short I simply used what I had managed to dye; not to mention the anarchic use of fine silk and heavy, rough linen.

I still have not decided whether to continue with my original plan of quilting a very traditional wholecloth design onto this very unsymmetrical quilt with no obvious centre. I had always intended to make the background of the “wholecloth” far more interesting than the main design but I am constantly arguing with myself on whether this quilt may need require far more contemporary quilting to pull it all together. If that doesn’t work, I expect that some fabric paint and sparkly crystals will help.

I think perhaps I should put it aside for a few weeks while I practise my neglected quilting skills on the chamois skins that I bought for the corracle project. Firstly, I think I should just crack on with a perfectly normal customer bed quilt and possibly even run some straight lines up and down some music-themed fabric that I want to use for notebooks and bags.

I had three intense days at school trying to capture the children’s interest in Victorians by focussing on dirt, disease and death. It is a pity that I don’t own a time machine to transport one or two of them back to 1850 to experience what life was like for children in a workhouse or factory…!

Skull & Crossbones

Despite having ongoing problems with my internet connection, I managed to order a new bathroom suite online and a red fairisle cardigan with a skull and crossbones pattern around the yoke instead of the more usual Shetland design. Luckily, the wifi went down again before I was tempted to place an order for a solar-powered Rayburn stove.

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

2 responses »

  1. Only a notion rather than a plan… Makes it easier to evolve but I can see the point of forward planning, just not for me! Looks like it may snow here as sky is colour of putty…

Leave a Reply

