Tricky Timetables

Standard

nelltrain

Our early Norfolk bound train to visit my family over Easter was cancelled without warning. We had to reschedule our entire journey using a complicated timetable, without the help of knowledgeable ticket man, invalidating our advance seat reservations. For part of our long trip we had to sit on our luggage in the corridor but it meant that we did not have to listen to inconsiderately loud DVD players and Ipods. I could not see why people could not wear headphones so that I could enjoy my book in peace.

Because we spent two whole days travelling there and back, we only had 3 days to catch up with the Grandparents and visit my sister’s new baby but we enjoyed ourselves all the same. There were delicious cakes to enjoy, a visit to a fascinating museum about herring fishing, and the best chips in the world from Yarmouth Market. We wandered aimlessly around the back streets Norwich which now has many trendy shops and cafes. I was sad to notice a music shop that had been in Norwich for generations being renovated into yet another bistro. Our journey back to Scotland went smoothly and we managed to catch all of our trains, despite the tight connection times. It is great now that all three of my children  are old enough to read or use an Ipad without getting bored.

chips

I had to return home by Friday so that I could give a talk to the Aberdeen South branch of the Embroiderers’ Guild on Saturday afternoon. They told me that they enjoyed my anecdotes and quilts. I was congratulated me that my teacher voice was heard by everyone, even those sitting at the back. I took Fenella with me and she made herself useful selling postcards and helping one of the ladies spread jam onto scones.

totemtrunk spandexmarks

I woke up in the middle of the night realising that April does not have as many weeks as I had planned. My children will still be on their Easter holidays this week, I am teaching most of next week and I have to represent APQS at the new British Quilt & Stitch Village Show in Uttoxeter the following week. I do not have much time left to finish the Celtic Totems if I want to enter them into a juried show by the beginning of May. If necessary, I can enter One but I really want to make Three. I am no stranger to tight deadlines and I probably work more determinedly under pressure. I have drawn out lots of circles on a piece of calico for the spandex totem, joined the under-quilt for the leather totem, prepared it for quilting and pieced a few little bits for the patchwork one. The snag will be getting the foam columns here on time. Mo informs me that she can make these for me out of flat foam more economically but they need to be absolutely smooth with no bumps. I also have to make eyelets in the edges of the goatskin quilt and decide whether corset lacing is what will work to attach it onto its totem column. Nothing like a few major last-minute challenges…

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

