Without Deviation, Hesitation or Repetition…

Standard

Vivienne and Trevor from Vivebooks spent 3 days in my studio with me filming video clips and taking stills to complete “Deviant modern machine Quilting” which should be ready to sell at the end of September. Amazingly, we only needed to do one or two takes for every demo, deciding that we would leave in the odd mistake as it seemed more realistic. The quality of the sound and light in the playbacks was excellent. My only problem was that I absolutely cannot remember a script so every ad-libbed quip was slightly different. This is why Radio 4 could employ me but I would be hopeless as a TV actress;) I do not appear glamorous in my YouTube introduction but Vivienne reminded me that it looked natural, as if I was about to get stuck into some quilting or go and feed the chickens. They managed to take some great photos of me and my local area which they have generously allowed me to use for publicity.It took a while to get my workshop back to normal after filming the demos, finding projects to photograph and shifting most of the furniture out of the way to make room for photography brollies. Ann came over with 6 Linus quilts which we completed on a production line – one of my machines quilted automatically, while we freehand-quilted on the Bernina Q24. It stitched very nicely and Ann was most impressed by how easy it was to use.
I spent Friday faffing about making sure that Freya had all of her documents in order for her Tallship Race next week and packing minimally to take Fergus and Nell to visit my folks. We travelled by train for 9 hours, giving me plenty of time to read for hours and eavesdrop on the other passengers. I completed “Go Set a Watchman” which I enjoyed – I certainly did not hate its sequel/prequel as some critics had warned. I noticed a man drinking a whole bottle of red wine before midday, tutted at families who shouted at each other from one end of the carriage to the other, and glared at children who played noisy computer games without headphones. The married woman behind me informed a total stranger that she visits an old flame 4 times a year to carry on a long-standing affair and a young woman chattered nervously in anticipation of meeting a man face to face in Newcastle with whom she had met on the Internet. I could imagine myself as Agatha Christie, sitting on trains, making notes then constructing convoluted murder plots!
Norfolk is meant to be the driest region of the UK but we always seem to bring Scottish weather with us. While my Mother was out, I took over her kitchen to rustle up a Sunday family supper. I could not find anything so there was a bit of improvisation and some essential ingredients were swapped for substitutes. A bottle of wine wrapped in cling film stood in as a rolling pin for a plum (nectarine and cherry) and marzipan tart. Mini tortillas replaced Chinese pancakes for the slow cooked shredded duck but it all worked out tastily enough. My sister has handed me a bundle of 6″ squares and if I might whizz up a small quilt by the end of the week…

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

