Simplicity is Overrated

Standard

 

prettyhip

I wonder why I find it so difficult to keep things ‘“simple”? One of my customers requested simple and minimal quilting but I ran into difficulty when I realised that the borders were full and wavy. I should have noticed sooner – the easiest and quickest thing would have been to remove and reattach the borders but I unwisely reckoned that I could keep on quilting to get them under control. The bottom border had an excess of 3 inches so I had to make a generous tuck and hide the little pleats with additional spirals. I decided that there would need to be matching quilting in the other borders and randomly filled spirals across the quilt to make it look like a planned design choice. I really liked the end result but a job that should have taken half a day took almost 2 days.

trixi   honeycomb

In contrast, an automated pantograph called “Honeycvomb” looked fantastic on a very nice purple and cream snowball block quilt. It is one of those designs that looks great on all sorts of quilts and I wondered why I had not just done this with the previous one;) Since I had to post that quilt back to its owner, I decided to block Tartan Tattoo once more for good luck before sending it of to Holland in good time for the OEQC in Maastricht.

mirrors

 

As a reward for completing 2 customer quilts, I allowed myself time to work on the Gloria Loughman workshop piece. There was a point, after 5 hours of messing about with Indian wood blocks, when I wondered whether I had gone too far. Things could only get much worse or considerably better after quilting hundreds of overlapping circles. I decided that shisha mirrors might add a little something so I was delighted when an Ebay purchase arrived within 24 hours. The crochet circles were a bit cheap and nasty but they looked fine alongside the other hot-fix mirror circles. If only I could learn how to make tiny crochet circles then I could add shisha mirrors to everything.

I spent some more time working on prototype “blocks” for one of the top-secret projects. I kept adjusting the size, shape, construction method, and combination of fabrics. It was annoying that the Kaffe Fasset stripes seemed to be the stingiest possible 25cm long-quarters and I struggled to get not-quite 10” cuts out of them. I am hoping that the other fabrics will arrive this week so I can crack on with this.

Because I am waiting for some yarn to arrive from Bulgaria, I still have to complete my couching experiments on the Q24 before I can start on BzB and decide whether additional colour is added before or after quilting. At least the new supply of wadding has arrived so I can no longer use the excuse that I don’t have almost all of the raw materials to get going…

About thequiltquine

Quirky Quilter in Scotland Creator of The Quilted Yurts, Patchwork Smart Car, Metallic Norse Wholecloths, Coracle, Quilted Henge, Quilting Tutor & Speaker, Occasional Pig-Keeper, Primary School Teacher, Mother, Writer, Landrover Enthusiast, Gin Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

