Perky Pompoms

Standard

I actually had two customer quilts to do this week, all dropped off and collected at a respectable social distance, of course! One was a large hexagon shaped Hexie quilt, all sewn by hand with edges that went off in all directions. I used a Honeycomb all-over pattern which I knew would incorporate all of the pieces and I think it set the piecing off nicely, without being busy. 

The other quilt was for a young couple, made from a jelly roll so I used a spiral-ish design called Dizzy-Izzy which I have to say is another of my favourites on many different types of quilt.

In between supervising the computer stitching the customer quilts, I have sewn a few pom-poms onto the RainbowWarliors. It is a fiddly job using invisible thread doubled up, making sure they are secure. This is really not enjoyable with the rough, calloused fingers that I now have from hand-sewing without a thimble and seemingly, rather a lot of washing up. I have run out of decent hand cream so the thread keeps catching on my rough fingers – shiver!

The pom-poms look jolly so I wondered if the tiny prairie-points might also need some extra bling. For that reason I have ordered 200 tiny silver bells and if I later decide against them I will simply make Nessie a very annoying reindeer suit for Christmas!

I made myself sit and do some filing, a rather depressing task when I have virtually no income. I can’t add to my existing spreadsheets which are stuck inside my dead laptop but the figures have all been recorded on paper so that boring chore has been semi dealt-with.

While my girls have been fixed to Animal Crossing I have been addicted to Duolingo, trying to soak up as many German phrases as possible. I am not entirely sure that I will ever need to say “The boys eats 30 beetles” or “I want a horse for my birthday” but still, I am getting better at remembering some more useful vocabulary.

5 responses »

  1. Re hand care! You may already be aware of Dermaguard Skin Protector. It is the best, and my understanding is that it is produced by Rebecca Collins husband’s company! Good enough provenance for me! If I thought there was any chance that I might see you in the near future I would gift you one! But I think we are quite safe!

  2. If you have rough hands, this home remedy works very well: cup one hand and fill with sugar, then add enough olive oil to moisten it and make a paste. Rub this into your hands and along your cuticles for a couple minutes. Add a drop of dish soap, rub slightly, rinse off under running water. Lightly pat to dry, which leaves a small amount of oil on your hands to keep them soft. Works well, and uses what you already have at home. Jill in Calgary/Phoenix

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.