Brainpower Required

Standard

As a person who owns several cameras, these days I take very few photos which does not adequately document my week. I had a huge customer quilt that took 2 days and a DIY quilter who spent 2 days here custom quilting. 

I considered starting on my Tula Pink butterfly quilt kit but that would require my full attention so I decided to dip in and out of the Art & Stitch manual. I think I am absorbing it more easily and it was pointed out to me that I don’t actually need to know it off by heart – I can in fact, consult the manual if necessary. My nemesis seems to be drawing on the computer using the Bezier tool. I hate it but feel that I need to conquer it in order to explain how it works, even if I never put it to use. Concentrating does use up a lot of brain power and I was able to keep going with a date and nut snack boost mid-afternoon. 

Since my QGBI Zoom lecture is done and dusted my next milestone is to prepare for a teaching weekend at Quilt Direct in Devon, mid March. I re-wrote the Northern Lights notes and calculated how much fabric would be required to make the whole quilt. The original Bifrost was made in 2015 and it was interesting to look it up on my blog history to see what decisions I made during the construction. I have no idea why but the photos I took at the time were terrible – low resolution and blurry. I don’t know whether I took them with a small camera or an older iPhone but it has made coming up with a slideshow rather hard!

Freya was here for the week to continue her dentistry saga and it was lovely to have a companion for walks when she wasn’t working. Nessie was delighted to have someone else pay attention to her. 

This coming week is going to be a holiday week since my sister and her boys are coming to stay. They have not been to Scotland for a while and it has been ages since I had guests other than the kids’ sleepovers. I had to find quilts and towels, make a meal plan and activities list and hope they don’t mind cobwebs and clutter that we don’t see any more…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.